Heworth in 1837
Heworth is a chapelry in the parochial chapelry of Jarrow : it contains an area of 2,190 acres ; and had, in 1831, a population of 5,424 : it is divided into Upper and Nether or Low Heworth. The chapel at Low Heworth is a modern building, but probably occupies the site of one not less ancient than the church at Jarrow. Some very ancient coins of the Saxon kingdom of Northumberland were some years since dug up in the chapel-yard. One corner of this chapel yard contains a monument, a neat plain obelisk, nine feet high, fixed on a stone base, to the memory of ninety-one persons killed in the explosion of Felling colliery, 1812.
There is a parish school-house, built by subscription in 1815 ; this school contained in 1833, 131 children. There were at the same time eleven other day-schools, with 351 children, and five Sunday-schools, with 556 children. At Heworth Shore on the Tyne are manufactories of Prussian blue and other colours, one for coal tar, and an establishment for preparing alkali for soap boilers ; also ship-building yards, a pottery, a glass-house, a lead refinery, wharfs for grindstones, a brown paper mill, an establishment for preparing fish oil from the blubber brought by the Greenland ships, &c. Freestone of an open porous character, called from its excellence in enduring a strong heat, firestone, is quarried at High Heworth.